Happy 4th of July 3 days late! Haha! I hope you guys all had a super fun weekend! We had so much fun. We spent pretty much the entire day with members and it was great! We have such an amazing ward in PA. Sadly we had to be home early but our apartment had a good view of a lot of the firework shows so it was good. We got to watch them Washington style (AKA in between all the humongous trees.) So pretty much we watched the sky light up different colors instead of being able to see the actual fireworks! It was pretty cool. Port Angeles goes all out of firework shows. Olson and I were up till like 1 30 because it was sooo loud outside! haha Good times! πŸ™‚
We also got to meet President and Sister Blatter this week and they are such amazing people. They are the perfect couple to run this mission and I’m so excited to get to know them better and learn from them. It is going to be great serving with them for the next 12 and a half months!
So Sister Gehring and I knocked into a guy named D about 4ish weeks ago and he is so great! We have been going back about once a week to teach him and he has loved everything we’ve taught so far. We were so excited because we were able to put him on date last Tuesday in the middle of an awesome Plan of Salvation lesson!!! WHOOOOO!!! He is on date for the 19th of July and he was way excited about it! He has been to Sacrament meeting twice so far and has enjoyed it both times! We just have to get him to stay for all of it next time… That’s always a struggle! haha
Our ward has been focusing a lot on member missionary work for the past few weeks and yesterday we had a special fast for the missionary effort’s in our ward. Sister Olson and I got to teach the Relief Society lesson about how we can make our homes a gospel sharing home. The lesson came from Elder Ballard’s conference talk in 2006 and you guys should all go read it! Such a great talk! πŸ™‚ We talked a lot about how our families can be involved in missionary work together. We need to be praying specifically for missionary opportunities and making PMG part of our family nights and scripture studies so we can always be ready for when the time comes. We also invited everyone in the ward to get a copy of the Book of Mormon and as a family write your testimonies inside and then focus your prayers on who that book needs to be given to. I loved this quote from Ballard’s talk, “The Lord is the Good Shepard, and He knows His sheep who have been prepared to hear His voice. He will guide us as we seek his divine help in sharing His gospel.:” I love this quote and I know that if we make missionary work a central focus in our lives then God will lead us to those who he has prepared! We all need to set our concerns aside and instead focus on our love of this gospel because when you love the Lord and you have a testimony of his restored gospel there will be nothing that can hold you back from sharing it with everyone you meet! Have another great week! I love you guys all so much!

LOVE Sister Horgesheimer

Part of Kelli’s letter home
We had such a fun 4th of July! One of the YSA’s in our ward took us roller skating down to the beach, we got some more crab from the fish guy in our ward, (I’m starting to get used to sea food now Haha. Still isn’t my first choice though) and we went to the ward breakfast and then we went to a members for a BBQ that night! I never want to leave this ward in PA they are al so much fun and have been so great to work with! I have never seen anything like the firework shows that went on in Port Angeles. They go ALL out ALL night long! It was super fun but it was dumb cuz the trees covered most of it! That is the one time I’d ever complain about there being to many trees.
So your never going to believe this… We went to meet our mission president and his wife on Wednesday down in Silverdale and the first thing he said to me when I shook his hand was! So I hear you live next door to the Harmers! Hahaha! He and Dave Harmer are best friends. President Blatter help Brother Harmer with his campaign in California! Small World! I just thought that was way funny! President and Sister Blatter are so amazing though! They are going to be perfect for this mission! We have interviews on Thursday and I can’t wait to talk with him and get to know him better.
Thank you so much for the cute package! So right when I opened the package our ZL’s texted us about 30 seconds later saying absolutely no playing with fireworks… So I thought that must have been a sign that I shouldn’t play with the sparklers… But we put them to good use! We took them to the twin girls house (who we helped get to the temple) and we let them have some fun! It was awesome and they loved it! πŸ™‚ And we looked awesome all day! The whole ward loved mine and Sister Olson’s 4th of July outfits! πŸ™‚ Thank again! have an awesome week! I’ll be thinking about you guys and praying for you! Don’t have to much fun without me! πŸ™‚ I love you!!!!!!