Hello Everyone!
Well I’m not sure if I’m gonna be able to put this crazy week into
words right now. So much happened. So many hard times yet so many
lessons learned that I am so grateful for. So if we are being honest
Elma is a rough area at times and this week everything was thrown at
us all at once. Transfers were good on Tuesday but I miss Julien
sooooo much. This area hasn’t been the same since she left. Sister
Lechuga is great but we are so different and it has been hard to be on
the same page a lot of the time. It has been getting better and better
each day though.
Knocking on the long dark roads has probably been the hardest part of
my mission… This week we had the cops called on us twice for looking
suspicious while knocking and we met some of the rudest people ever.
Haha I had to hold Sister Lechuga back from yelling at them a few
times… It was bad. But luckily our ward mission leader is a cop so
it’s been ok. He said that whenever he gets calls about the
missionaries he just laughs and tells the people to deal with it. ๐Ÿ™‚
Normally I just move on and forget about things like this but I was
struggling so much this week to let the craziness of that scary night
go. Then the AP’s called us that night and asked us to give a 30
minute training in mission leadership council on Friday and I wanted
to say no so badly (but i didn’t). That phone call honestly put me
over the edge and I had a little breakdown in the car real quick…
Speaking in front of missionaries is so intimidating for me so the
thought of a 30 minute training in front of all the zone leaders,
AP’s, STL’s, and President and Sister Blatter literally scared me more
than anything. Thankfully our training went pretty well though so we
were very happy about it. This opportunity was such a blessing in
disguise for me though because it forced Sister Lechuga and I to work
together and get it all planned out. From that time on we have been so
much more open with each other and such better friends.
We got home from a good day at MLC on Friday and It was right before
knocking that I just had to get on my knees and pour my heart out to
my Heavenly Father for help to get through this transfer and the night
of knocking that was ahead of us. My testimony of prayer has been
strengthened so much because right when I got up off my knees my whole
attitude changed and I was so ready and excited for this night. We
picked a street and met some of the nicest people ever. 3 different
houses let us in and I can’t even tell you how thankful I was for
talking to nice people for a change. Heavenly Father led us to that
street for a reason and I know that was him strengthening me and
showing me that he is there for me always. It has been hard but I am
so thankful for how my testimony has been strengthened this week.
Teaching wise our cute little 9 year old investigator Georgia picked a
baptism date this week for Jan. 31st. We are so excited for her. ๐Ÿ™‚
We were very humbled this weekend as we were able to go help clean up
from the crazy floods that happened this past week in Aberdeen. On
Saturday morning our stake came together and with about 200 of us we
split up and helped several families whose houses had been damaged
from the flood. We were ripping out carpet, getting rid of all the
garbage and moving boxes from tons of basements. We finished the day
helping a lady who had 5 feet of water in her basement from a sewer
line that broke. I am not even exaggerating a little bit when I say 5
ft. With all the water rushing down the hill it took about 2 feet of
mud right into her house and all through her back yard so we were
there shoveling thick mud out of her basement. We were covered head to
tow in mud and eventually with all the missionaries it turned into a
mud fight outside her house and we had to clean ourselves off by
jumping in the freezing river.I have never in my life seen anything
like this and my heart was broken as this poor elderly couple has lost
almost everything they owned. All the lady could say was “we are so
grateful because things could be so much worse.” Wow such a powerful
lesson learned that day that we need to focus on what we do have and
be grateful in every circumstance. Even when times are rough we need
to always remember that things could be so much worse and that we
honestly have no reason to complain. God knows what we can handle and
I know he will help us though any situation that comes along our path.
Sorry this is kinda a long email… I love you all so much and hope
you have a very good and happy week! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_3467 IMG_3452 IMG_3472 DSC_0553 DSC_0564

Chopping wood on new years
This is James. The greatest recent convert in the world.
Sister Thompson and I on the last day of her mission. LOVE HER!!!

Kelli at the Mission Leadership Conference with her new companion

