This week has literally been a complete 180 degree turn around in the
Soundview ward. IT WAS AMAZING!!! We probably taught about 8 solid
lessons and have 6 of those 8 scheduled for return appointments and
not only that we have a new solid investigator on date for baptism on
the 21st of June! SO MANY MIRACLES. My brain is not big enough to keep
them all straight.

So this week started off good except us and the elders in our ward
keep deciding to knock the same streets within a day of each other
without coordinating… We pick a street start knocking and seriously
4 nights this week they say “oh your guys were here yesterday or 2
days ago.” Ha so we have to re pick a street. By the 4th time we were
getting a little mad so we decided to leave and we left right in time.
On the new street we picked we had just gotten out of our car and a
guy yells out his car window, “God bless Sisters!” So we stopped to
talk to him and he said his girlfriend has just gotten baptized and he
was interested to look into the church. He heard a little from when
the Elders taught his girlfriend so that was good. So right after
knocking we went over to his house and he told us his ENTIRE life
story. He has so much in his past that he is ready to move on from and
so we talked about the atonement and about how amazing it is that we
are able to make covenants with Heavenly Father that allow us to be
spiritual reborn and to move on and not look back. It was such a
powerful lesson. The spirit was so strong and really helped Bryan feel
the reality of the power of the atonement. He accepted to be baptized
on June 21st if he felt he had gained an assurance from God that this
decision is right. He came to church yesterday and loved it and I
really do have faith that he will be able to make it on the 21st. We
have been focusing a lot on daily positive contact and just helping
him make small steps every day to learn to recognize the spirit and
prepare for receive more light from God. He is awesome!

I read Elder Renlund’s talk from this past conference this week and
I’m so grateful I did because it has come in handy in so many teaching
situations this week. “God cares a lot more about who we are and who
we are becoming then about who we once were. He cares that we keep on
trying.” This is my favorite quote from this talk and from all the
opportunities that I’ve had to bear my testimony of my Savior this
week I have felt stronger than anything that the atonement is truly
there to help us look forward and not dwell on the past or the person
we used to be. This life is about moving forward and using Christ to
help us change to be stronger each day. I have really been able to see
people with a new perspective this week and have felt God’s love for
his children so strongly. I love this gospel and I’m so thankful for
the way my testimony has grown from all the opportunities I’ve had to
bear it.

I wish I had more time to share all the many other miracles of this
week but let me just say service has been the key to everything. We
have done like 6 or 7 hours of service this week and have found
amazing teaching opportunities from it. “they don’t care how much we
know until they know how much you care.” I know this quote is true.
Hope you guys all have a great first week of Summer! I LOVE YOU!!!
Love, Sister Horgesheimer

IMG_4046 IMG_4044 IMG_4051

1. Exchanges with Sister Jones
2. This is one of my new best friends who is leaving to the MTC then
to Australia. She is going to be such an amazing missionary.
3. Officially knocked the sketchiest apartment complex in our area and
it was hilarious! Can’t wait to tell you all these stories in a few
weeks from this place. Haha! 🙂

